What will you do when you’re retired??

As Mr. LL and my respective mothers ask us about early retirement.

“Well, what do YOU do?” we are tempted to respond to our respective mothers, one of whom is retired and the other of whom is a stay-at-home-mom.  If Mr. LL and I have kids, and are able to retire, we’ll do stay-at-home-parent stuff, and if we don’t have kids and are retired, we’ll do retirement stuff.  However, this is a bit of a glib answer and we don’t respond in this way.  But it is also hard to exactly describe what early retirement might look like.

We want to do even more outdoor recreation – camping, hiking, backpacking, biking, kayaking, snowshoeing, exploring state and national parks – whatever strikes our fancy.  And we want to do it off-peak, so that we aren’t always competing with the weekend rush to the mountain.  I am interested in doing even more baking and cooking and culinary experimenting, as well as more sewing, knitting, and gardening.  I want to learn more Spanish and Japanese, and get better at playing the flute.  I want to learn how to make furniture.  I want to be able to draw and do oil paint portraits.  I want to try new jobs and volunteer without worrying about career gaps or lack of experience.

Maybe I want to do these things and stay in my current job.  Or go half-time in my current job.  I want to always have goals that I am striving toward.  I want to develop expertise in something.  I want to spend a lot of time with my family.

 

Leave a Reply

