Adventures in gardening

Last week I was talking with a coworker of mine who has his own garden, and I told him that I wanted to try starting one of my own, but I wanted to learn more about gardening before I attempted anything.  He suggested that I just try planting the seeds and see what happens.  This conversation was inspiring because I am often reluctant to try new things unless I’ve done a lot of research before hand.  Part of this is because I have to buy materials and other resources, and some of it is probably just my personality.  I want to know what I’m getting into.  However, this same personality trait sometimes prevents me from trying new things because I get daunted by my research, which makes things sound really complicated and tiresome.  My research on gardening made it sound like I would have to wade through a lot of contradictory advice on what to plant and how, and that it would be a lot more expensive in terms of water.

However, this weekend I decided to go ahead and take my friend’s advice.  I did some preliminary research on what would be good late summer/fall seeds to plant, and I headed out to Fred Meyer and bought packages of seeds for:

  • Purple plum radishes
  • Endive
  • Broccoli
  • Onion
  • Gourmet lettuce blend

I hope that something ends up growing, because I know that I would feel more encouraged to try growing other produce and invest more time in gardening.  I also hope that I have other opportunities to try little things to see if I get satisfaction out of them before I decide to plunge headlong into them.

Leave a Reply

