Cleaning out the kitchen with bread-baking

Another of my goals has been to start paring down the amount of excess food that ends up sitting in my freezer and pantry forever.  It started when I was looking through the pantry and noticed a ton of bread and whole wheat flour in various containers, some of which I haven’t used in ages.

I used this whole wheat quick bread recipe for my whole wheat flour, and this no-knead yeast bread recipe for my bread flour.  Both were quick, easy, and required very few ingredients, all of which I already had.

The whole wheat bread has the texture and density of banana bread, and we’ve been using it for peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.  I have also been using the yeast bread for croutons instead of going out and buying a loaf from the grocery store.  It’s been a great way to clean out the pantry and a way to cut our grocery bill too.

Leave a Reply

